Diwali Is Celebrated Wholeheartedly Over Five Days

by Ritika Jayaswal - Date: 2010-10-04 - Word Count: 482 Share This!

The Five days of Diwali is celebrated over five days in most of North India. All the days except Diwali are named using the designation in the Indian calendar. A lunar half-month is 15 days. Diwali as a new-moon day marks the last day of a 15-day period. Diwali has emerged as one of the most famous Hindu festivals. regard it as a celebration of life and use the occasion to strengthen family and social relationships.

The first day of festival begins with Dhanteras, Dhan means "wealth" and Trayodashi means "13th day". Dhanteras falls on the 13th day of the first half of the lunar month. On this day, homes are thoroughly cleaned people exchange gifts, purchase new items for the house. This year you can surprise your close ones by sending them Dhanteras Gifts. People pray for prosperity on Dhanteras to Lakshmi, because it is believed to give the best results for the year ahead.

Narak Chaturdasi:
The second day of Diwali is called Narak Chaturdasi. Narak means 'of a new era of Light and Knowledge'. Chaturdasi implies fourteenth day. Narak Chataurdasi is the fourteenth lunar day of the dark forth night of the month of Kartik and the eve of Diwali. On this day Lord Krishna destroyed the demon Narakasur and made the world free from fear.

Laxmi Puja on Diwali:
The third day is the main day of celebrations of the festival of Diwali. Lamps are lighted and shine brightly in every home. Lakshmi Puja on diwali is performed on this day as lakshmi is the goddess of wealth and Ganesha is the Lord of Happiness. Lakshmi puja on Diwali are performed for prosperity, material abundance, and spiritual prosperity. This Laxmi Puja on Diwali is performed in the evening.

Goverdhan Pooja/ New Year:
The fourth day of diwali is called Goverdhan Pooja also known as Annakut. In ancient times, the people of Gokul would celebrate a festival in honor of Lord Indra, worshipping him at the end of each monsoon season. However, in one particular year, the young Krishna halted the custom of offering prayers to Indra, who in a fit of anger poured down a deluge in order to destroy Gokul. Krishna saved Gokul by lifting up a mountain called Govardhan and holding it over the people as an umbrella. So, on this day, Goverdhan Pooja is performed to commemorate this act of Sri Krishna. Beginning of the New Year (Kartikadi Vikram) Pratipada means the first.

Bhai Dooj:
The fifth day of the diwali is Bhai Dooj; it is the second day of the bright fortnight of Kartika. In the Vedic era, Yamraj, the Lord of Death visited his sister Yamuna, who marked the auspicious Tilak on his forehead. They ate and talked together, enjoying each other's company, exchanging special gifts as a token of their love for each other. Since that time the custom has been for brothers to visit their sisters to celebrate Bhaidooj.

Related Tags: diwali 2010, diwali pooja, festival of lights, dhanteras, bhai dooj

Your Article Search Directory : Find in Articles

© The article above is copyrighted by it's author. You're allowed to distribute this work according to the Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivs license.

Recent articles in this category:

Most viewed articles in this category: